Baby Steps

It is so tempting when I think about “going on a diet” or starting a new program, that I will lose a MINIMUM of two pounds every week. I look toward the future and crunch the numbers and decide that I will have lost all the weight and reached my goal in approximately 6 or 7 months.

That’s what I want to happen. That’s never happened. My sister has lost 60 pounds over the course of two years without going on a diet – just being more conscious of her eating habits.

So, going into this, this time, my goal is lose an average of one pound per week. There will be weeks when I lose more, weeks when I lose, weeks when I don’t lose and weeks that I might just gain a bit. I’m keeping the expectations low, but not with a defeatist attitude, with a realistic attitude knowing that slow and steady is more likely to produce lasting results.

I’ve lost well above one pound so far this week and that feels fantastic. I’ll need that boost down the road I am sure.

My plan for weighing in was going to be on Mondays, but I think I will do my official weigh in on Wednesdays in the future.

2 thoughts on “Baby Steps

  1. One of the things I do not miss as part of my life-long weight struggle is the scale. I think it hurt more than helped me. Giving it up was a HUGE decision, but it was the right one for me. If you find that the scale gives you more bad news than good, think about other ways to measure your success.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment. I go back and forth on the scale thing. I weigh everyday and it can very much affect my mood for the day and I know that’s not healthy. It’s something that I will probably give up in the future, but I’ll need to wean myself off of it eventually. For now, it’s one step at a time. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

